Arthur F. Barry, Royal Navy

Barry_ArtRoyal Navy, Able Bodied Seaman, LTJX2302CL, Survivor, Aged 29

Hailing from Corner Brook, Art was on a 31-day leave, celebrating in the saloon on the top deck. He had already survived two sinkings in Gibraltar and Malta. On the 1986 maiden voyage of the M.V. Caribou, Arthur recalled surviving on a raft and grabbing Percy Moores. He also witnessed Wilfred Poole, Patrick Walsh, and Mr. Winsor drowning (Bennett, Evening Telegram, 1986).

This photograph was supplied by one of his grandchildren, Lori Vokey. Lori writes, “He didn’t like to talk about his time in the Navy much but he did tell me about that night. I don’t really remember much of the story he told me anymore, I had it on cassette tape because I interviewed him about it for a school project back in the 80’s but it was lost in the big Fort McMurray fire in 2016.”

Leave a comment